Burger King Ad Banned Due To ‘Unsuitable’ Condiment

Vegans freak out over this one ‘unsuitable’ burger topping

| BK ads banned for saying ‘Rebel Whopper’ is okay for vegans

| The Independent – A series of Burger King advertisements have been banned for incorrectly claiming that the Rebel Whopper is suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

According to the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA), a number of customers complained that three of Burger King’s adverts, published on the company’s social media accounts in January 2020, were “misleading”.

The first advert, which was published on Burger King’s Twitter feed, stated:

“You asked and we listened. Introducing the Rebel Whopper, our first plant-based burger!”

...article continued below
- Advertisement -

An image of the burger was seen alongside the tweet with a round sticker on the product which stated:

“100 percent Whopper. No beef.”

Elsewhere, one of the posts on the Burger King Facebook account stated “taste of being woke” next to an image of the Rebel Whopper burger.

However, customers complained after learning that the Rebel Whopper was not actually suitable for vegans, vegetarians and those with egg allergies because it was cooked alongside meat products and used egg-based mayonnaise.

Following an investigation by the ASA, Burger King explained that small print at the bottom of the adverts stated that the Rebel Whopper may not be suitable for vegans or vegetarians as it was cooked alongside other meat products.

...article continued below
- Advertisement -

The company added that the information was clearly communicated to journalists and clearly stated on all social media posts and subsequent customer dialogue.

Burger King added that the product itself consisted of a 100 percent plant-based patty supplied by the Vegetarian Butcher and had no beef.

They explained that a customer who did not want mayonnaise could have excluded that from their order.

However, the ASA upheld the complaints and demanded that Burger King ensured they did not misleadingly imply that a product was suitable for vegans and vegetarians if it was not.

“We considered that consumers would understand the claims 100 percent Whopper. No beef’ and in particular the claim ‘plant-based burger’ to mean that the burger did not contain any beef or animal products,” an ASA spokesperson said … Read more. 


Bernie Fans Can’t Stop Laughing At Topless Vegan Protestors

Vegan Diet Bad For Your Brain: UK Study

Vegan Activist Goes Back To Meat, Her Health Returns

ALSO ON HEADLINE HEALTH TODAY: Beach Packed After Surfing Declared ‘Essential’ | Mafia Legend Dead Of Virus | Will Virus Cost Trump Second Term? 

- Advertisement -


Navy Identifies 15th Sailor Killed By COVID-19

THE HILL – A Navy sailor who died of coronavirus-related complications earlier this month has been identified. Master-at-Arms Senior Chief Michael Haberstumpf, 42, of Whispering...

It’s Like a Fitbit, But for Your Penis

INSIDE HOOK – In a season three episode of Sex and the City, Charlotte attempts to get to the bottom of her husband’s impotence...

Fauci’s Agency Admits Funding Wuhan Lab Experiments

(National Review) A top NIH official admitted in a Wednesday letter that U.S. taxpayers funded gain-of-function research on bat coronaviruses in Wuhan. The letter went on...

Doctor Accused Of Bad Penis And Breast Enhancements Loses License

NJ.com – New Jersey authorities have shut down the license of a doctor on accusations he was improperly performing penile and breast enhancement procedures,...

Pig Organ Transplant Experiment Performed On Brain-Dead New Yorker

AP – Scientists temporarily attached a pig's kidney to a human body and watched it begin to work, a small step in the decades-long...

FL Chief Fired for Not Forcing Firefighter Vaccinations

A Florida battalion chief has been fired for refusing to discipline workers who hadn't gotten a COVID-19 vaccine in violation of a requirement for county employees.

Italian Study Details Who Dies of COVID If Vaccinated

People vaccinated against COVID-19 are highly unlikely to die of the disease unless very old and already badly ill before getting it, a study in Italy showed on Wednesday.

Clinton ‘Touched By The Outpouring Of Support’

CHAPPAQUA, N.Y. (AP) — Former President Bill Clinton released a video saying he is on the road to recovery after being hospitalized in Southern...

New Hooters Uniforms: Do They Go Too Far?

DAILY DOT – Hooters is reportedly making a new part of its uniform optional after some employees critiqued it on TikTok. Over the last week or...

NFL Racist? “Race-Norming” Applied To Dementia Test Results

The NFL is set to propose changes to the $1 billion concussion settlement on Wednesday after an outcry over test score adjustments known as "race-norming," which make it harder for retired Black players to win dementia awards that average $500,000 or more.
- Advertisement -